Entertainment celebrities who became politicians

After making a name for themselves in the entertainment industry, these individuals ventured into politics and either succeeded or failed in their bids for elective posts in government. They are:


1)   Tito Sotto — from famous comedic trio Tito, Vic and Joey (TVJ) of ‘Eat Bulaga’ was vice mayor of Quezon City before entering the Senate. He is currently the Senate president, and is bruited about to be a presidential contender in 2022;


2)   Manny Pacquiao — TV host and Pambansang Kamao Manny Pacquiao was a congressman of Sarangani province before winning a seat in the Senate. He is now rumored to be running for the post of president or vice president in 20122;


3)   Lito Lapid — veteran action star and “Ang Probinsyano” mainstay, who was a former senator for two consecutive terms, clinched another Senate post in his comeback bid this year’s election;


4)   Bong Revilla — actor and detained for graft as a senator, but later acquitted, regained a senatorial seat in the 2019 polls;


5)   Isko Moreno — former matinee idol and former vice-mayor defeated convincingly incumbent mayor, actor Joseph Estrada, and former mayor, TV host Alfredo Lim for mayor of Manila;


6)   Joseph Estrada — former action star who lately lost re-election as Manila mayor to Isko Moreno, was earlier the 13th President of the Philippines;


7)   Jinggoy Estrada — another action star who was detained for graft as a senator, lost in his Senate return, under his is father’s Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino party;


8)   Vilma Santos-Recto — popularly known in showbiz as the ‘Star for All Seasons,’ Vilma was a mayor of Lipa City, and then governor of Batangas. She won re-election as House representative of the 6th district of Batangas;


9)   Alfred Vargas — movie and TV actor Alfred Vargas won another term as congressman for the 5th district of Quezon City;


10)                Yul Servo Nieto — actor and incumbent Manila City’s 3rd district representative wins re-election;


11)                Dan Fernandez — former actor and currently mayor of Sta. Rosa City in Laguna, won a new term as Laguna representative in Congress;


12)                Lucy Torres-Gomez — actress and product endorser Lucy won a congressional seat for the 4th district of Leyte in 2010, and lately got re-elected;


13)                Imelda Papin — the ‘Sentimental Songstress’ held the vice governor position in Camarines Sur for two terms, and has lately won for a third term;


14)                Jolo Revilla — actor and incumbent Cavite vice-governor won re-election for his last term;

15)                Jestoni Alarcon — this actor-politician won in his re-election bid as Provincial Board member of Rizal's first district;


16)                Lino Cayetano — film and TV director won as mayor of Taguig City;


17)                Richard Gomez — this actor won his 2nd term as mayor of Ormoc City in Leyte;


18)                Lani Mercado — this actress won re-election as mayor of Bacoor City in Cavite;


19)                Sebastian "Baste" Duterte — TV host and presidential son ran unopposed as Davao City vice mayor;


20)                Anjo Yllana — former 'Eat Bulaga' mainstay Anjo Yllana was once the vice mayor of Parañaque, and is now a Quezon City councilor for the 5th district;


21)                Actors Vandolf Quizon and Jomari Yllana both win another term as councilors in Parañaque City;


22)                “It’s Showtime” host Jhong Hilario won re-election as councilor of Makati City (1st dist);


23)                Actress Charee Pineda tops reelection bid as Valenzuela City (2nd dist.) councilor;


24)                Former Viva Hot Babe Jaycee Parker Aguas wins as councilor of Angeles City, Pampanga;


25)                Mocha Uson — former singer/dancer and resigned PCOO assistant secretary is the first nominee of Kasosyo party list;


26)                Ciara Sotto — second nominee of Luntiang Pilipinas party-list;


27)                Edu Manzano — this film and TV actor-host failed in his bid for a Congress seat for San Juan City. He once served as Makati City vice mayor, and then ran but lost for senator in the 2016 elections;


28)                Original Pilipino Music icon Freddie Aguilar, running under PDP-Laban, failed in his first try for a Senate seat;


29)                Actor Richard Yap — lost bid for Cebu City’s 1st district representative;


30)                Rommel Padilla — actor and father of Daniel Padilla lost in his run for Nueva Ecija 1st district representative;


31)                Long Mejia — this comedian lost his bid for Camarines Sur’s 1st district representative;


32)                Mark Lapid — actor and former Pampanga governor lost bid for mayor of Porac, Pampanga;


33)                Former action star Monsour del Rosario lost as Makati City vice mayor;


34)                Jeremy Marquez — son of actor Joey Marquez was defeated for vice-mayor of Parañaque;


35)                Actor Gary Estrada — lost bid for vice-mayor of Cainta, Rizal;


36)                Former Viva Hot Babe, Andrea del Rosario, lost re-election as Calatagan, Batangas vice mayor;


37)                Sheryl Cruz, actress and singer, lost her run for councilor of Manila;


38)                Actress Jan Marini Alano lost candidacy for councilor of Quezon City (4th dist.);


39)                Actor Dominic Ochoa and actress Rochelle Barrameda lost their respective bid for councilor of Parañaque City;


40)                Herbert Bautista has been a three-term mayor of Quezon City;


41)                Joey Marquez became municipal vice mayor, municipal mayor and city mayor of Parañaque;


42)                Alma Moreno was a councilor of Parañaque City, and then failed in her bid for a Senate seat in the 2016 elections;


43)                Fernando Poe, Jr. — before he passed away, action star and movie icon FPJ ran for the presidency in 2004, but lost in a rather controversial election; and


44)                The late singer-actor Rico J. Puno was, in 1998, elected councilor of Makati City (1st dist.) and went on to serve the post for three terms until 2007.


-----------Compiled by Rolex A. Elmido


Leave a Comment