51 winning party-lists proclaimed

Supported by Raffy Tulfo, administration-backed ACT-CIS was one of only two party-lists to get three seats each in the midterm polls. Photo by Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

MANILA — A total of 51 out of 134 party-list organizations that joined the May 13 midterm elections, were proclaimed winners during a ceremony Wednesday (May 22) evening after the proclamation of the 12 winning senators in the morning that day.


The Comelec, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC) headed by Chairman Sheriff M. Abas, conducted the proclamation of the 51 winning party-lists that earned a total of 61 seats in the House of Representatives.


The Comelec resolution, as reported by the Philippine News Agency, stated: “The Commission on Elections en banc sitting as the National Board of Canvassers of party lists hereby declares the following party-list groups as winners in the party-list elections of 2019 entitled the total number of seats indicated in the respective names to serve for a term of three years beginning at noon of June 30, 2019.”


Administration-backed ACT-CIS (Anti-Crime and Terrorism Through Community Involvement and Support) and left-leaning Bayan Muna were the only party-lists to get three seats each in the House or a total of six seats for the upcoming 18th Congress.


GMA News’ Halalan 2019 results showed that ACT-CIS garnered a total of more than 2.6 million votes, while Bayan Muna got more than 1.1 million votes.


ABS-CBN News reported that ACT-CIS will have all of its three nominees — Eric Yap, Jocelyn Tulfo, and Rowena Niña Taduran — taking House seats. Jocelyn is the wife of broadcaster Raffy Tulfo.


Bayan Muna will be represented in the House by Carlos Isagani Zarate, Ferdinand Gaite, and Eufemia Cullamat.


Six other party-lists secured two seats each: AKO Bicol, CIBAC (Citizens' Battle Against Corruption), Ang Probinsyano, 1-PACMAN (One Patriotic Coalition of Marginalized Nationals), Marino, and Probinsyano Ako. This means a total of 12 House seats.


Forty-three more party-lists entered the winning circle with one seat each. Among them are the militant youth group Kabataan and pro-Duterte administration group Duterte Youth. These 43 seats rounded up the 61 seats allocated for party-lists in the House.

The full list of the winners in the party-list race is shown on page A8 in today’s issue of The Manila Express.


Leave a Comment